I Am Healed

Today, I ran.
Fast.
Perhaps it was because I was excited to meet my driver who was stuck in Payday Friday Makati traffic.
Perhaps it was because I was eager to finally end the work week and get a bit of rest.
Perhaps it was because I was longing to finally go home, hug and kiss my little girl.

But whatever the reason was, I ran.
Fast.

And it’s such a big deal to me because not too long ago, I can barely walk or sit or lie down like a normal person would.

You see, about four weeks ago, I accidentally slipped and hurt my lower back really bad and I have been in terrible pain since. Thankfully, my few medications and lots of prayers gradually helped me recover, enough to make me come to work and perform basic mom duties. I wasn’t able to enjoy a lot of important things though – I missed church once, I missed crafting, I missed family bonding at the mall or the park.

But it is while in that state that I found myself appreciating a lot of often-taken-for-granted blessings.

So let me share with you what I learned and re-learned from this whole ordeal.

1. GOD IS WITH YOU.
Know this.
In good times.
Especially in bad.
God is with you.
Things may be hard, but they could have been worse. You may go through tough, trying times, but never for a second think that you go through them alone. Know that the Lord is with you. His comfort and love is always there.

I know sometimes you feel that God is too far. You may feel that He is not listening. You may cry from how ‘it rains, it pours’ to the point that you question where He is in all these.

Well, He is with you.

Pray. Worship. Medidate on His Words and promises.

Let me share a few of my favorites:

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:26

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning. Psalm 30:5b

2. YOUR PARTNER LOVES YOU.
You may have had bad days. You may have fought just the night before. You may have had pet peeves and nuances against each other. You may have even wanted to kill each other. (Hahaha, not us though.) But when push comes to shove, you are there for each other. He rushes to the ER with you to accompany you as you undergo your lab tests. He goes to your side to hand you your medicine and give you that needed massage. He sacrifices his own time table and sleep to take you and fetch you from the office. He gives in to your tiny and big requests. He pampers you. He babies you. He steps up to make you feel you are loved, to make your healing process easier and quicker.

He loves you.

3. YOUR CHILD NEEDS YOU.
And that is not a bad thing. Yes you need rest, yes you need to recover. But try telling that to a little one who depends much on you on a lot of things. Try explaining that to a little girl who just wants to play with you. Try turning down that little face who eagerly waited for you to come home at night so she could bond with you.

But you see, being needed is not all that bad. It gives you purpose, encouragement, motivation. It makes you feel you are still worth something to someone despite your own needs and poor condition. It makes you feel loved. It pushes you to pray harder and work harder for that speedy recovery because you know someone is waiting for you.

4. YOUR WORK UNDERSTANDS YOU.
“She believed she could, but she was injured. So she rested. And you know what? The world went on and it was okay.” As much as I tried to report for work on the first few days, my body couldn’t and I can never thank my bosses enough for being so understanding. Miss even said she would have sent me home had I insisted going against my doctors orders. So don’t ‘kill’ youself over that job that can replace you the next day. Rest as much as you need to help you perform at your best… for yourself, your family, and even your company who chose to understand and trust you.

5. YOU ARE OKAY.
Maybe not now. Not soon. But you will be.

So today, I ran.
Fast.

And it is a big deal to me because it is a testimony that I AM HEALED.

And I thank you all for your prayers, support, and care for me these part few weeks.

I love you all! ❤

Leave a comment